Why now and why here?

Last summer, I met up with an old college friend who was passing through Tokyo, where I was living at the time. She was very complimentary of my frequent online photo albums with corny captions, and encouraged me– you need to be writing!

Likewise, at our wedding a couple of months before, a childhood friend (who’s soon, hopefully, going to hit it big, but for now is most well known as one of Meredith’s more memorable “oops” moments on Grey’s Anatomy), asked also– “you wrote those captions? That (stuff) is funny. You should write more”.

Now granted, I spend an inordinate amount of time on those albums, and generally think I have some talent at eliciting guffaws or otherwise spinning yarns, but the thought of formal writing has always been exceedingly unpalatable– there’s something about having to write that has never sat well with me.

In high school, almost always, I’d wait til the last night to write papers. Even on those nights, computer ablaze (or before that, an antique typewriter with no “1” key), and all lights on in the room, I’d manage to delay, delay, delay. At around 11 or 12, I’d lie down “for a few minutes” to collect my thoughts. Then, around 330AM I’d wake up to heart palpatations and churn out a full paper, sans outline and sans revisions, worthy of the golden shovel award. And the problem, of course, is I got good grades. There was no consequence, no punishment, for my sad work ethic. Mrs. Z– you were an enabler.

So this pattern has continued, even to this day (those receiving letters of recommendation from me– you don’t want to know how long I wait and how quickly I end up writing those things…but don’t worry– once finished they are glowing). But as slack as I am with writing, I’m pretty sure I like it, if no other reason that I frequently reread and reamuse myself with my work. Perhaps it’s just ego. Whatever.

Anyway, last month, our son was born, and I’ve started capturing and posting video clips on youtube– here’s my favorite so far, Day 16. With his arrival, I figure now’s as good a time as any to start a blog, to keep track of Ruben’s more interesting moments, and otherwise wax poetic about my own flavor of the month. Plus, unlike a book or journal, there’s no penalty if this turns out to be the first and last post. Blogging is obligation-free writing…why didn’t I think of this earlier?

And one other thing. I surf the net. A lot. Instead of inundating folks with mass emails about cool sites, or thinking weeks afterward about a site I liked, I now have a place to keep track of things.

As Neo said at the end of the Matrix (before the sequels took the polish off a great sci-fi story): I don’t know the future. I didn’t come here to tell you how this is going to end. I came here to tell you how it’s going to begin.

I hope this turns out better than the 3rd Matrix movie. For all of our sakes.

AK

2 Responses to “Why now and why here?”


  1. 1 Simon Wednesday, 28 February, 2007 at 16:16

    Good luck with everything!

  2. 2 Pratheepan Thursday, 1 March, 2007 at 01:53

    I think your college friend was just being nice….no need to take it literally.


Leave a Reply

My RSS


